2019 JLTAWA Teacher of the Year – nominations now open

Home / Latest News / 2019 JLTAWA Teacher of the Year – nominations now open
2019 JLTAWA Teacher of the Year – nominations now open

Do you know of a JLTAWA member who is doing amazing work and deserves recognition?  Please consider nominating them for ‘JLTAWA Teacher of the Year’

This award is for a current teacher and JLTAWA member who has demonstrated exemplary teaching practices in the Japanese language classroom for a minimum of five years. A truly committed and professional educator will be recognised as a continuing advocate for Japanese language education in Western Australia.

The Japanese Language Teachers’ Association of WA Award will be a framed certificate accompanied by a $300 voucher to purchase Japanese teaching resources. These prizes have been kindly donated annually, since 2010, by the Hyogo Prefectural Government Cultural Centre and will be presentedat the JLTAWA Sundowner Friday, 22nd November 2019.

Nominations can be made by any individual connected to the field of Japanese language education in WA including principals, teachers, colleagues and parents. The nomination must be seconded and at least one of these nominators must be a current JLTAWA member. The selection criteria are as follows:

  1. Excellence and innovation in Japanese language education.
  2. Support of Japanese language colleagues.
  3. Active member of the Japanese language teaching community.
  4. Length of teaching service (minimum of five years Japanese teaching experience).

NOMINATION FORM: 2019 JLTAWA teacher award

All nominations are to be emailed to rosanne.jacobs@mdc.wa.edu.au.  All nominees will be notified by email of their nomination and asked to provide a short one-page summary outlining some of their second language teaching accomplishments and experiences. The deadline for applications is COB Tuesday 12 November 2019.

A selection panel will be formed with a minimum of three JLTAWA members including representatives from primary and secondary sectors). The selection panel will choose one winner and this decision will be final.

Previous Winners:

2010    Shane Glass

2011    Nathan Harvey

2012    Mariel Howard

2013    Kumiko Sue

2014    Anne Ashby

2015    Rosanne Jacobs

2016    Natalie Pearce

2017    Margo Whittle/Terrena Hall

2018    Susan Edwards